TORONTO - Margaret Atwood and Anne Michaels headline a Scotiabank Giller Prize long list that boasts 10 female writers and just two men.

Atwood is in the running for "The Year of the Flood," about the near demise of humanity, while Michaels is up for "The Winter Vault," her first novel since 1996's acclaimed "Fugitive Pieces."

The short list will be announced Oct. 6 while the winner is to be unveiled Nov. 10.

The Giller Prize is worth $50,000.

The men on the list are CBC journalist Linden MacIntyre for his novel about religious scandal entitled, "The Bishop's Man," and Colin McAdam for his novel, "Fall."

This year's jury is made up of short story writer Russell Banks, British author Victoria Glendinning and Canadian writer Alistair MacLeod.

Others to make the long list include:

-- Martha Baillie for her novel, "The Incident Report" (Pedlar Press)

-- Kim Echlin for her novel, "The Disappeared" (Hamish Hamilton Canada)

-- Claire Holden Rothman for her novel, "The Heart Specialist" (Cormorant Books)

-- Paulette Jiles for her novel, "The Colour of Lightning" (HarperCollins Publishers)

-- Jeanette Lynes for her novel, "The Factory Voice" (Coteau Books)

-- Annabel Lyon for her novel, "The Golden Mean" (Random House Canada)

-- Shani Mootoo for her novel, "Valmiki's Daughter" (House of Anansi Press)

-- Kate Pullinger for her novel, "The Mistress of Nothing" (McArthur & Company)