The Ontario government has updated its list of where each of the province's 34 public health units is placed in its colour-coded COVID-19 framework.

The tiered system, which was originally announced on Nov. 3, outlines the criteria for when to impose stricter public health measures, including and closure of non-essential businesses.

The five categories include prevent (green), protect (yellow), restrict (orange), control (red) and lockdown (grey).

Here's the breakdown of where each health unit has been placed. Regions marked with an asterisk will move into their respective "zones" on December 21 at 12:01 a.m.

Prevent (Green)

  • Algoma Public Health
  • North Bay Parry Sound District
  • Porcupine Health Unit
  • Renfrew County and District Health Unit
  • Public Health Sudbury and Districts*

Protect (Yellow)

  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit*
  • Chatham-Kent Public Health
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit
  • Lambton Public Health
  • Northwestern Health Unit
  • Hastings and Prince Edward Counties Public Health
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit
  • Peterborough Public Health
  • Timiskaming Health Unit*

Restrict (Orange)

  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit*
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
  • Huron Perth Public Health
  • Ottawa Public Health
  • Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox and Addington Public Health*
  • Southwestern Public Health

Control (Red)

  • Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit
  • Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health
  • Durham Region Health Department
  • Halton Region Public Health
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services
  • Brant County Health Unit*
  • Niagara Region Public Health*

Lockdown (Grey)

  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit
  • York Region Public Health
  • Peel Regional Health Unit
  • Toronto Public Health
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services*